Award Ceremony
June 3, 2022 | Nashville

The Barton A. Cummings Gold Medal Award was established by the AAF's board of directors in 1994 to recognize distinguished individuals for their service to advertising through volunteer work with the AAF. It is AAF’s highest volunteer service award.

The award is named in honor of the late Bart Cummings, former Chief Executive Officer of Compton Advertising (now Saatchi & Saatchi Advertising), whose extraordinary career was dedicated to industry service and to advancing the social and economic values of advertising. Cummings' volunteer work included serving as Chair of the AAF, the 4As, the Ad Council, the Advertising Educational Foundation and The AAF Foundation. His many honors include induction to the Advertising Hall of Fame.

Now Accepting Nominations. Deadline is March 25, 2022.



2020 + 2021 Recipients

Helen Lavelle

President & Chief Creative Strategist
Lavelle Strategy Group 

Helen’s connection to the AAF has spanned nearly 35 years during which she has selflessly served at each level of the organization beginning with Club President, soon after District 2 Governor, and ultimately as the Council of Governors Chair and Eastern Region Chair.

Learn More 

Steve Hall

Senior Lecturer, Charles H. Sandage Department of Advertising
University of Illinois

Steve Hall has always been hard-wired to help shape the advertising industry in a passionate, positive, impactful way with his service as an educator, leader and volunteer.

Learn More