September 9, 2008

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

Young Advertising Innovators to Be Honored at 2008 Advertising Hall of Achievement

Inductees From DIRECTV, Pepsi-Cola North America Beverages, McCann Worldgroup, Google Inc., Tribal DDB Worldwide, Translation Consultation + Brand Imaging, BBDO North America and Starcom MediaVest Group Will Be Recognized

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Eight advertising leaders will be inducted into the prestigious Advertising Hall of Achievement during a luncheon on Tuesday, November 18, at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City. The Advertising Hall of Achievement recognizes young advertising professionals, age 40 and under, who have made a significant impact on the industry though their leadership and career achievements and who exhibit inspiring personal qualities.

"The Advertising Hall of Achievement is a distinctive honor, in that the inductees are chosen by their peers. These remarkable executives are setting powerful examples which are and will continue to be effective in leading the advertising industry into an on-demand world," said Wally Snyder, AAF president and CEO.

Now in its 16th year, the Advertising Hall of Achievement has recognized some of the industry's most exceptional talent. This year's inductees are:

  • Jon Gieselman, SVP, Advertising & PR, DIRECTV
  • Thom Gruhler, EVP, Global Account Director, McCann Worldgroup
  • Chris Kempczinski, VP, Marketing, Non Carbonated Beverages, Pepsi-Cola North America Beverages
  • Penry Price, VP, Advertising Sales, North America, Google Inc.
  • Elizabeth Ross, President, Americas & Global CMO, Tribal DDB Worldwide
  • Troy Ruhanen, EVP, Managing Director, BBDO North America
  • Stephen Stoute, Founder & Chief Creative Officer, Translation Consultation + Brand Imaging
  • Andrew Swinand, President, Global Operations, Starcom MediaVest Group

    • Penry Price, vice president, advertising sales, North America, Google Inc., will also be presented with the esteemed Jack Avrett Volunteer Spirit Award. The AAF added this award in 1996 to honor an inductee who is committed to exceptional public service and the betterment of both the advertising industry and their community.

      2008 Advertising Hall of Achievement Committee


      Laura Desmond,* Global CEO, Starcom MediaVest Group
      Chris Theodoros, Director, Industry Relations, Google Inc.


      Maurice Coffey,* Associate Marketing Director, Household Care, the Procter & Gamble Company
      Lori Erdos, VP, Advertising Sales, USA TODAY
      Murray Gaylord, VP, Marketing & Customer Insights,
      Kim Kelleher,* VP & Publisher, SELF Magazine, Condé Nast Publications
      Jacki Kelley,* EVP, Media, Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia
      Patricia Kelly, Marketing Director, Marketing & Media Group, AdweekMedia
      Philippe Krakowsky,* EVP, Strategy and Corporate Relations, Interpublic Group
      Jeff McFarland, Director, Business & Multicultural Execution, Verizon
      John B. Osborn,* President & CEO, BBDO New York
      Linda Thomas Brooks,* Executive Director, Media & Marketing, Trilogy
      Liz Vanzura*
      Lauren Wiener,* SVP, Meredith Interactive, Meredith Corporation


      Ken Brown, VP, Director of Organization & Leadership Development, McCann Worldgroup
      Suzie Brown, CMO, Valassis
      David Carey,* President, Business Media, Condé Nast Publications
      Frank Cooper, VP, Portfolio Brands, Pepsi-Cola North America
      Scott Donaton,* Publisher, Entertainment Weekly
      Sean Finnegan,* President, Chief Digital Officer, Starcom MediaVest Group
      Jami Fullerton, Associate Professor, Advertising, Oklahoma State University
      Wenda Harris Millard,* Co-CEO, Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia
      Chris Jogis, VP, U.S. Brand Development, MasterCard Worldwide
      Juan Carlos Ortiz,* President, DDB Latina
      Jack Rooney,* CEO, Ogilvy Chicago
      Jessica Sibley, SVP & Publisher, BusinessWeek
      Judy Wheeler, Director of International Marketing, Chrysler LLC

      *Advertising Hall of Achievement member

      For more information on the 2008 Advertising Hall of Achievement, go to For sponsorship information, please contact Lisa Rubin, vice president, events and corporate services, at