July 15, 2008

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

AAF Announces Honorary Committee for 2008 Diversity Achievement and Mosaic Awards & Forum

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The American Advertising Federation (AAF) and its District Two recently announced the 2008 Diversity Achievement and Mosaic Awards Honorary Committee. The honorary committee is composed of advertising industry leaders who continue to offer extensive support of the AAF's Diversity Achievement and Mosaic Awards & Forum, which has become one of the industry's strongest diversity and multicultural initiatives. The 2008 Diversity Achievement and Mosaic Awards & Forum will be held on Wednesday, September 24, 2008, at the New York Athletic Club in New York City and will once again be the primary diversity and multicultural program for Advertising Week New York.

Over the last four years, hundreds of advertising industry professionals have recognized the importance and effectiveness of multicultural marketing and a diverse workforce through their support of the Diversity Achievement and Mosaic Awards and their participation in the Mosaic Forum discussions.

The success of the Mosaic Center, through the support of the honorary committee members, has contributed to a 100 percent increase in the number of students who have participated in the AAF's Most Promising Minority Students Program since the program's inception in 1997, as well as continued enhancement of the Mosaic Career Fairs, Mosaic Vendor Fair and primary research studies. Members of the Honorary Committee are featured on promotional materials and assist in program implementation.

The 2008 Diversity Achievement and Mosaic Awards Honorary Committee includes:

  • Carmen Baez, president, DAS Latin America (a division of Omnicom Group)
  • Keith Bowen, chief revenue officer, TV-One
  • Don Coleman, president and CEO, GlobalHue
  • Frank Cooper, vice president, marketing – CSD flavors, Pepsi-Cola North America
  • Tony Hill, vice president, advertising, USA TODAY
  • Andy Jung, past chairman, AAF
  • Dolores Kunda, president and CEO, Lapíz Integrated Hispanic Advertising
  • Byron Lewis, chairman and CEO, UniWorld Group, Inc.
  • Tim Love, vice chairman, Omnicom Group, Inc.
  • Jeff McFarland, executive director, multicultural marketing, Verizon Communications
  • Jo Muse, chairman and CEO, Muse Communications, Inc.
  • Hector Orcí, chairman, La Agencia de Orcí y Asociados
  • John Osborn, president and CEO, BBDO New York
  • McGhee Williams Osse, co-CEO, Burrell Communications
  • Julius Pryor III, general managing partner, Quantum Group
  • Rudy Rodriguez, director, multicultural marketing, General Mills, Inc.
  • Michael I. Roth, chairman and CEO, Interpublic Group
  • Carol Sagers, director, U.S. marketing, African-American & Asian markets, McDonald's USA
  • Rich Stoddart, president, Leo Burnett USA, Inc.
  • Denise Warren, chief advertising officer, NYT Media Group, The New York Times
  • L.H. Whelchel, chief talent officer, Young & Rubicam Brands

The AAF hosted its first Mosaic Awards & Forum program in 2001 to recognize successful multicultural marketing and diversity efforts. In 2004, the AAF and its District Two joined forces to present the Diversity Achievement and Mosaic Awards & Forum. District Two represents roughly 10 percent of AAF club membership and covers the regions of New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland and Washington, D.C.

To learn more about the honorary committee, click here. For more information on the 2008 Diversity Achievement and Mosaic Awards & Forum, contact Tricia Ward at tward@aaf.org.

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at www.aaf.org.