January 19, 2005

Ted Turner, Tom Burrell, Harry Jacobs and Roger Enrico Elected to Advertising Hall of Fame

WASHINGTON, DC—The American Advertising Federation (AAF), administrator of the Advertising Hall of Fame, proudly announces the election of four advertising legends to the industry's highest honor:

  • Thomas J. Burrell, chairman emeritus, Burrell Communications Group , pioneering advertising leader who shaped the world of multicultural marketing to reflect its economic relevancy and proved the effectiveness of targeted communications
  • Roger A. Enrico, former chairman and CEO, PepsiCo ; executive chairman, DreamWorks, SKG, visionary corporate leader who took the food and beverage manufacturer to a place of unprecedented prominence through innovative, forward-thinking advertising creative and quality products
  • Harry M. Jacobs, chairman emeritus, The Martin Agency , remarkably versatile advertising agency leader who shaped generations of creative talent and led his business to be one of the most successful “outside of New York” agencies of all time
  • Ted Turner, founder, CNN , revolutionary communications powerhouse who altered the course of broadcast history by single-handedly building a dynasty of cable broadcast stations and inventing the 24-hour cable news format

The recipients will be officially inducted into the prestigious Advertising Hall of Fame at an awards luncheon Tuesday, March 15, at New York's historic Waldorf=Astoria hotel.

“With their uncompromising vision and uncanny ability to harness innovation, each of these four legends have dramatically influenced our business principles and creative scope,” said AAF President and CEO Wally Snyder. “As the AAF celebrates its centennial, these four Hall of Fame inductees perfectly embody the pioneer spirit that makes advertising the most creative industry.”

The Advertising Hall of Fame began in 1948, and since then 170 individuals, including this year's honorees, have been elected to this illustrious group. They include such industry giants as Leo Burnett, Jay Chiat , Katharine Graham, John H. Johnson, David Ogilvy, William Paley, John Pepper, Harley Procter, John Wanamaker and Mary Wells Lawrence. This award is the most prestigious in the industry honoring those individuals who have raised the standard of advertising excellence.

The Council of Judges, chaired by David Verklin, CEO of Carat North America selected this year's recipients from among numerous candidates who have completed their primary careers. Click here for an entire list of the56th Annual Advertising Hall of Fame Council of Judges.

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at www.aaf.org.