March 15, 2005

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

AAF Launches Web Site for 'Advertising Hall of Fame'

NEW YORK, NY- The American Advertising Federation (AAF) announces the launch of the dedicated Web site for the Advertising Hall of Fame, the industry's most prestigious property. The new Web site can be reached at

This fully interactive site serves as a valuable research tool by providing a wealth of information to professionals, academics and students. In addition to biographical information on the 170 members, the Web site also delivers streaming videos featuring career highlights as well as archival materials, including speeches, community involvement and campaign materials.

"We are committed to extending the outreach of the Advertising Hall of Fame, and thereby the accomplishments of these giants of advertising," said Wally Snyder, AAF president and CEO. "Created in the year of the AAF's 100th Anniversary, the Web site serves as a virtual museum celebrating and showcasing the extraordinary contributions to advertising and society by those who make up the Advertising Hall of Fame."

"This Web site will inspire students as well as educate policy makers on the integral role of advertising in a free-market society," said David Verklin, CEO, Carat Americas and chairman of the Advertising Hall of Fame Committee. "Importantly, the site will be an indispensable resource for professionals."

Since its inception in 1948, the Advertising Hall of Fame has recognized those individuals who have best served the cause of advertising. Elected by a council of judges comprised of the industry's most dynamic leaders, each of the 170 members have helped raise the standards of professionalism in the industry, while inspiring future generations.

The Advertising Hall of Fame Web site was made possible through charter sponsors BBDO, Carat, Interpublic Group, Meredith Corporation, National Football League, PepsiCo, The New York Times, Turner Broadcasting System and Verizon. The site was designed and developed by xtential. The archives were digitized by Ascent Media. The 2005 inductees are Thomas J. Burrell, chairman emeritus, Burrell; Roger A. Enrico, former chairman and CEO, PepsiCo and executive chairman, DreamWorks; SKG; Harry M. Jacobs, chairman emeritus, The Martin Agency and Ted Turner, founder, CNN.

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at