August 30, 2005

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

AAF to Honor the Legacy of John H. Johnson at Mosaic Awards and AAF District Two Diversity Achievement Awards

WASHINGTON, DC- The American Advertising Federation (AAF) will honor the influential life of John H. Johnson, publisher, chairman and chief executive officer, Johnson Publishing Company, Inc., with the Diversity Achievement and Mosaic Legend Award at its September 28 District Two Diversity Achievement and AAF Mosaic Awards.

Among his many honors, Johnson was a recipient of a 2001 Mosaic Award for his role in creating African American advertising and marketing. Johnson was also inducted into the Advertising Hall of Fame in 2002, recognized in part for his pioneering work to encourage companies to use positive portrayals of blacks in mass marketing. Johnson passed away on August 8 and left a legacy of remarkable achievements and innovations that radically altered the advertising and marketing landscape, particularly as the founder of Ebony and Jet magazines.

To honor Mr. Johnson and his contributions to the advertising industry, the AAF will make a donation to the John H. Johnson School of Communications at Howard University. Jeff Burns, Jr., associate publisher/SVP, Ebony, who will present the honor, said "In addition to being a marketing and publishing pioneer, John H. Johnson was a promoter of education. He would be pleased to know that the industry will celebrate this ideal."

Accepting the donation will be Jannette L. Dates, dean, John H. Johnson School of Communications, who added, "John H. Johnson cared about the future of the industry enough to dedicate much of his time, resources and energy to the education of bright and talented minority students. This donation will help continue that legacy." Students from Howard were the first from an historically black university to participate in the AAF's National Student Advertising Competition, as well as the first to continuously have an AAF college chapter for over the past 12 years.

District Two's Diversity Achievement Awards and AAF's Mosaic Awards will be presented during Diversity/Mosaic Day on Wednesday, September 28 at the New York Athletic Club during Advertising Week New York. Recipients of this year's Mosaic Awards include InBev/Lápiz, Integrated Hispanic Marketing; Johnson & Johnson/Lowe Worldwide; Tyson Foods/Lopez Negrete Communications; Staples/El Diario La Prensa & La Opinion; BrownPartners Multicultural Marketing and DaimlerChrysler Corporation. Diversity Achievement awards will go to FedEx; Doug Alligood, BBDO; Dr. Henry McKinnell, Pfizer; Darryl Hazel, Ford, Lincoln Mercury; Jerri DeVard, Verizon and Esther Lee, The Coca-Cola Company.

For more information on the Mosaic Awards, contact Connie Cannon Frazier at (202) 898-0089 or For sponsorship opportunities, please call 1-800-835-9946 or visit For information on the Diversity Achievement Awards, contact Pat Martin at (212) 644-0790, ext. 24 or

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at