September 15, 2005

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

Leaders from Google, MediaVest, Euro RSCG, USA TODAY, BBDO, NBA Entertainment and GM to be Honored in AAF 2005 Advertising Hall of Achievement

WASHINGTON, DC- The American Advertising Federation (AAF) has named seven exceptional young executives from today's top corporations to its esteemed Advertising Hall of Achievement. This year's recipients will be honored at a luncheon celebration on November 15 at Cipriani 42nd Street, in New York City.

The 2005 Advertising Hall of Achievement Inductees:

  • Tim Armstrong, VP, advertising sales, Google Inc.
  • Laura Desmond, CEO, MediaVest USA
  • David Jones, global CEO, Euro RSCG Worldwide
  • Jacki Kelley, SVP, advertising, USA TODAY
  • Eric Silver, EVP, executive creative director, BBDO New York
  • Heidi Ueberroth, EVP, global media properties and marketing partnerships, NBA Entertainment
  • Liz Vanzura, global marketing director - HUMMER Division, General Motors Corporation

The awards honor extraordinary industry professionals age 40 and younger who are making a significant impact on the industry through their leadership, career achievements and inspiring personal achievements.

Jacki Kelley, SVP, advertising, USA TODAY, will also be presented with the prestigious 2005 Jack Avrett Volunteer Spirit Award. This award is given to an inductee who demonstrates extraordinary volunteer efforts that extend beyond that of their accomplished peers.

The 2005 AAF Advertising Hall of Achievement Council of Judges was co-chaired by Deborah Meyer, VP, Lexus marketing, Toyota and Linda Thomas Brooks, EVP, managing director, GM Mediaworks. Said Meyer, "We were stunned by the quality of all 47 nominations and how difficult it was to decide on this year's roster of honorees. We finally chose seven young professionals who are in the process of redefining advertising."

Thomas Brooks added, "The most remarkable shift among the 2005 honorees is their openness about the need for balance between career, family and community give-back. The Hall of Achievement honors those that are not only reaching great heights in their careers, but who acknowledge the need for mentoring and good corporate citizenship."

"By utilizing the power of advertising and pushing the creative envelope, these brilliant young executives are empowering their companies, and clients, to excel," added AAF President & CEO Wally Snyder.

Established in 1993, the AAF Advertising Hall of Achievement has 88 members, including this year's honorees, representing all aspects of the diverse advertising industry. The AAF established this program as a way to recognize young, talented individuals who are making a significant impact on the business of advertising. Part of the mission of Advertising Hall of Achievement is to attract, develop and retain talent in the advertising industry.

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at

2005 Advertising Hall of Achievement

Deborah Meyer*,VP, Lexus marketing, Toyota
Linda Thomas Brooks*, EVP, managing director, GM Mediaworks

Wright Ferguson, EVP, sales, ADWEEK Magazines

Kim Bealle*, managing partner, Young & Rubicam NY
David Carey*, VP, publisher, The New Yorker
Lori Erdos, VP, advertising sales, USA TODAY
Laura Gentile, senior director, advertising & marketing, ESPN
Steve Giannetti, VP, group publisher, National Geographic Society
John B. Osborn*, president & CEO, BBDO New York
Gary Yost, VP, marketing, Valassis

Kathy Delaney*, managing partner, executive creative director, Deutsch Inc.
Jack Griffin*, president, Meredith Publishing Group
Stacey Lynn Koerner*, EVP, director of global research integration, Initiative
Karen List, managing director, The New York Times
Eleanor Mascheroni, CMO, Ogilvy
Susan Mboya*, associate director African American multicultural business dev, P&G
Wenda Harris Millard*, chief sales officer, Yahoo! Inc.
Julie Roehm*, director, marketing communications, Chrysler, Jeep & Dodge Brands
Ian Rowden*, EVP & CMO, Wendy's International
Rich Stoddart*, president, Leo Burnett Worldwide
Chris Theodoros, director, industry relations, Google, Inc.

* indicates Advertising Hall of Achievement member