January 11, 2006

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

Robert Johnson, Donald Keough, Henry Luce and Al Neuharth Elected to Advertising Hall of Fame

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The American Advertising Federation (AAF) proudly announces the election of four advertising legends to the Advertising Hall of Fame, the industry's highest honor:

* Robert L. Johnson, founder, BET, for originating the nation's most recognized and successful African-American cable television company;
* Donald R. Keough, retired president & COO, the Coca Cola Company, for shaping the advertising image of one of the world's most iconic companies during his extraordinary tenure at its helm;
* Henry R. Luce, co-founder, TIME Magazine; founder of Fortune, Life and Sports Illustrated magazines (1898–1967), receiving the award posthumously for creating many of the country's most enduring and respected publishing titles;
* Al Neuharth, founder, USA TODAY & the Freedom Forum, for conceiving of a nationwide newspaper and building the nation's preeminent institution celebrating free speech.

The recipients will be officially inducted into the prestigious Advertising Hall of Fame at an awards luncheon Tuesday, March 14, at New York's Waldorf=Astoria hotel.

"These four honorees have dramatically enhanced the cultural landscape of this nation through their creative careers in the advertising world," said AAF President & CEO Wally Snyder. "With their determination and unwavering innovative spirit, these legends have elevated the business of advertising through their influence."

The Advertising Hall of Fame was established in 1948, and since then 174 individuals, including this year's honorees, have been elected to this illustrious group. They include industry giants such as Bill Bernbach, Leo Burnett, Jay Chiat, Katharine Graham, John H. Johnson, David Ogilvy, William Paley, Harley Procter, Ted Turner, John Wanamaker and Mary Wells Lawrence. This award is the most prestigious in the industry honoring those individuals who have significantly raised the standard of advertising excellence. More on the Advertising Hall of Fame and its members can be found at the award-winning Web site www.advertisinghalloffame.org.

The Council of Judges, chaired by John Costello and vice chaired by Joseph Abruzzese, president – advertising sales, Discovery Networks, selected this year's recipients from among numerous candidates who have completed their primary careers. See below for the entire list of the Council of Judges.

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at www.aaf.org.

2006 Advertising Hall of Fame Council of Judges

John Costello, chairman, Advertising Hall of Fame

Joseph Abruzzese, president – advertising sales, Discovery Networks

E David Bell, chairman, the Interpublic Group
Reg Brack,* former chairman & CEO, Time Inc.
Phil Dusenberry,* former chairman & chief creative officer, BBDO/North America
Andy Jung, senior director of advertising & media services, Kellogg Company
Gene Kummel,* chairman emeritus, McCann Erickson WorldGroup
Jo Muse, chairman & CEO, Muse Communications
Janet Robinson, president & CEO, The New York Times Company
Mike Shaw, president – sales & marketing, ABC
David Verklin, CEO, Carat Americas

Judy Barry, SVP, advertising, The Wall Street Journal
Howard Bell,* president emeritus, AAF
Susan Cantor, CEO, Lowe New York
Louis Carr, president, broadcast media sales, BET
Karen Francis, chairman & CEO, Publicis & Hal Riney
Chuck Fruit, SVP & chief marketing officer, the Coca Cola Company
Phil Guarascio, lead executive, advertising sales & marketing, NFL
Jyll Holzman, SVP, advertising, The New York Times Company
Bill Lamar, chief marketing officer, McDonald's Corporation
Tim Love, vice chairman, Omnicom Group
Burt Manning,* chairman emeritus, J. Walter Thompson USA Inc.
Eleanor Mascheroni, chief marketing officer, Ogilvy & Mather Worldwide
Craig Moon, president & publisher, USA TODAY
Allen Rosenshine, chairman, BBDO Worldwide
Ed Wax, former worldwide chairman & CEO, Saatchi & Saatchi

* Advertising Hall of Fame Member