May 31, 2006

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

Awards Honor Best Work of 2005–2006

Best of Show to Be Announced at AAF National Conference in San Francisco

WASHINGTON, D.C., May 31, 2006—This awards season, the American Advertising Federation (AAF) ADDY Awardsagain proves that it is one of the world's largest, most competitive advertising competitions. From this year's 58,000 local grassroots ADDY Awards entries, 1,857 were judged in the national competition. The awards are becoming more competitive and prestigious as a grand total of 69 Gold ADDY Awards and 104 Silver ADDY Awards were awarded for work done in 2005–2006.

The ADDY Awards are the world's most representative advertising competition. Of this year's finalists, 1,635 were professional entries, resulting in 60 Gold ADDYs and 90 Silver ADDYs. There were 222 student ADDYs judged, resulting in nine Gold ADDYs, 14 Silver ADDYs and one Special Judges Award.

This year, there will be one Best of Show winner in the Student and Professional ADDY categories. These will be announced at the ADDY Awards gala on Sunday, June 11, at the AAF National Conference 2006 in San Francisco. The celebrity master of ceremonies will be Joe Piscopo of Saturday Night Live fame.

Yahoo!, presenting sponsor of the ADDY Awards, will award the Yahoo! Big Idea Chair to the Best of Show winner. The Yahoo! Big Idea Chair honors unique and outstanding work in creative interactive marketing and advertising. In addition, Yahoo! Chief Operating Officer Daniel Rosensweig will deliver the conference's keynote address on Monday, June 12.

The ADDY Awards ( are the advertising industry's largest and most representative competition, recognizing creative excellence and the very best advertising worldwide. The ADDY Awards competition honors numerous categories of advertising and also features the Student ADDY Awards, designed specially for college students. The program is unique among all advertising competitions; it is the only one that includes three rigorous levels of judging for its 58,000 entries.

This year's competition was judged by an illustrious panel of today's top creative talents:
* Judging Panel Chairman: Mark Tutssel, chief creative officer, Leo Burnett Worldwide
* Tom Ajello, VP, creative director,, New York, N.Y.
* Rick Carpenter, president, DDB Group Los Angeles, Venice, Calif.
* Matt Fischvogt, associate creative director/VP, McKinney, Durham, N.C.
* Jay Giesen, vice president, group creative director, Blattner Brunner, Pittsburgh, Pa.
* Cortrell Harris, creative director, Carol H. Williams, Chicago, Ill.
* Ann Hayden, executive creative director, Saatchi & Saatchi, New York, N.Y.
* John Heath, copywriter, Atmosphere BBDO, New York, N.Y.
* David Kim, interactive creative director, Publicis West Seattle, Seattle, Wash.
* Mary Knight, executive creative director, Foote Cone & Belding, Seattle, Wash.
* Paul Schoknecht, director of interactive, JWT Technology, San Francisco, Calif.
* David Stolberg, senior vice president/group creative director, Deutsch LA, Los Angeles, Calif.
* Bob Sullivan, EVP, creative director, Grey Worldwide, New York, N.Y.
* Daniel Vargas, chairman & president, Vargas & Amigos, Inc., Atlanta, Ga.

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at