June 13, 2006

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

Postal Vault Awards University of Virginia First Place in 2006 AAF National Student Advertising Competition

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIF.—Students from the University of Virginia won the American Advertising Federation (AAF) 2006 National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC) for an ad campaign created for Postal Vault®, the leading postal security company.

"The University of Virginia campaign perfectly captured our vision for the branding of our Postal Vault product," said Bobbie Cox, founder and CEO, Postal Vault. "My vision for the company and our unique product has been quality, excellence and elegance. It was difficult to choose among all the exceptional campaigns presented, but the University of Virginia team executed this vision with exceptional professionalism and made a truly winning presentation."

The University of Virginia won the competition with its "The Think Campaign." The campaign mission was to motivate consumers to think about their mailboxes and the need to secure mail with a Postal Vault product. Utilizing traditional, nontraditional, and business-to-business marketing tactics, the team presented an emotional appeal to consumers with the tagline "Postal Vault. Now You've Thought of Everything."

As the 2006 NSAC sponsor, Postal Vault challenged more than 6,500 students on 215 campuses to develop a memorable campaign for a newly formulated yet very timely product. Postal Vault manufactures, sells and distributes postal and delivery receptacles designed to protect and secure mail and parcel packages. As a challenge to the competing university teams, Postal Vault provided a case study outlining the history of its vault, which helps prevent identity theft. Student teams then researched the product and devised a completely integrated communications campaign for the ultimate company in postal security. These campaigns were presented by participating college teams in regional competitions across the country.

Judges from Postal Vault and leading advertising companies chose University of Virginia over college and university finalists competing at the AAF National Conference 2006 in San Francisco. Webster University, University of Minnesota – Twin Cities and the Art Center Design College – Albuquerque took second, third and fourth place respectively.

For several months, the students—working in teams—conducted primary research to study the target market, including its media habits, and also studied the competition. Getty Images provided use of images for the teams, and their materials were featured in the winning campaign. Other companies that contributed to the NSAC teams are Nielsen Media Research, Simmons and SRDS Media Solutions.

Considered the premier student advertising competition in the nation, the NSAC has become the proving grounds for 80,000 students who have participated and an imperative for an increasing number of ad industry recruiters seeking new talent. Finalist teams are awarded monetary prizes—first place received $3,500; second place received $2,500; third place received $2,000; fourth place received $1,000; and all other teams received $500.

The University of Virginia Team

Jennie Averbrook
Zoe Chen
Erin Fromherz
Karen Land
Cathy Sposato

Faculty Adviser:
Jack Lindgren

2006 NSAC District Competition Finalists

District 1: Johnson & Wales University, Oscar Chilabato, Faculty Adviser
District 2: University of Scranton, William Anderson, Faculty Adviser
District 2: George Washington University, Lynda Maddox, Faculty Adviser
District 3: University of Virginia, Jack Lindgren, Faculty Adviser
District 4: University of Miami, Phil Willet, Faculty Adviser
District 5: University of Kentucky, Beth Barnes, Alyssa Eckman, Faculty Adviser
District 6: Ball State University, Michael Hanley, Faculty Adviser
District 7: University of Tennessee, Mariea Hoy, Faculty Adviser
District 8: University of Minnesota – Twin Cities, Howard Liszt, Faculty Adviser
District 9: Webster University, Susan Seymour, Sally Howald, Faculty Adviser
District 10: Southern Methodist University, Bill Ford, Faculty Adviser
District 11: University of Oregon, David Koranda, Faculty Adviser
District 12: Art Center Design College – Albuquerque, Andrew Webb, Faculty Adviser
District 13: Chaminade University of Honolulu, Cliff Bieberly, Faculty Adviser
District 14: University of Nevada – Reno, Bob Felten, Faculty Adviser
District 15: Chapman University, Cory O'Connor, Faculty Adviser
Wild Card Team: University of Wisconsin – Madison, Christopher Schell, Faculty Adviser

NSAC 2006 National Judges

Wright Ferguson Jr., publisher, Adweek
Chuck Hosier, executive vice president of sales and marketing, Postal Vault Systems, Inc.
Neil Levy, associate creative director, BBDO West
Crystal Roubadeax, account planner, BBDO West
Danny G. Smith, president/owner, The D-Group, Inc.

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at www.aaf.org.