July 6, 2006

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

AAF Elects New Officers and Board Members

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The American Advertising Federation (AAF) named industry executives to its board of directors, effective July 1, 2006. Andy Jung, senior director of advertising & media services, Kellogg Company, will again serve as AAF chairman and Murray Gaylord, vice president, brand marketing, Yahoo! Inc., will serve as AAF vice chairman, as part of their two-year term. Board members were voted in by the membership at the AAF National Conference 2006 annual business meeting on June 13.

Additional board executives include:

  • Treasurer: Al Schultz, chairman & CEO, Valassis
  • Assistant. Treasurer: Denise Warren, chief advertising officer, The New York Times Media Group
  • Secretary: Rick Carpenter, president, DDB Los Angeles
  • Assistant Secretary: Mike Kelly, president, AOL Media Networks
  • Corporate Chair: Linda Thomas Brooks, executive director – media & marketing, Trilogy
  • Corporate Vice Chair (East): David Verklin, CEO, Carat Americas
  • Corporate Vice Chair (West): Jo Muse, chairman & CEO, Muse Communications, Inc.
  • Corporate Vice Chair (Central): Rich Stoddart, president, Leo Burnett USA
  • Mosaic Council Chair: Hector Orcí, CEO, L'Agencia de Orcí & Asociados
  • Mosaic Council Vice Chair: Frank Cooper, VP – marketing CSD flavors, Pepsi-Cola Company

AAF's academic committee guides programs for 215 college chapters, consisting of 6,400 students and 350 professors:

  • Academic Chair: Jami Fullerton, associate professor of advertising, Oklahoma State University
  • Academic Vice Chair: Steve Hall, lecturer and director of advertising career services, University of Illinois

AAF's 200 local ad clubs and federations are represented by the council of governors on the national board of directors:

  • Chair: Helen Lavelle, creative director, Lavelle Murray Advertising, Scranton, Pa.
  • Vice Chair: John A. Aguillard, president, Wisdom Marketing/Advertising, San Antonio, Texas
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Andy Narrai, account manager, Scheibel Halaska, Milwaukee, Wis.
  • Immediate Past Chair: Stacy McCullough, president, Sprenger McCullough & Company, Kansas City, Mo.

The 2006–2007 AAF council of governors includes the following AAF members:

  • District 2: Nicholas Ferrari, CEO, Erdos & Morgan, Inc., Syosset, N.Y.
  • District 3: Barry Wilson, managing director, Planet Central, Huntersville, N.C.
  • District 4: James Bozeman, sales and marketing consultant, Sun State Media Direct, Gainesville, Fla.
  • District 5: Tom Moore, president, Moore & Associates, Cleveland, Ohio
  • District 6: Marta Jones, president, Outhouse, Inc., Rockford, Illinois
  • District 7: Vicki Mills, VP – business development, Imedia Group, Macon, Ga.
  • District 8: Gina Nacey, senior copywriter, Agency 128, St. Cloud, Minn.
  • District 9: Jeffrey DeLong, creative director, Digital IMS, Lincoln, Neb.
  • District 10: Susan Adkins, president, Adkins & Associates, Inc., Ft. Worth, Texas
  • District 11: Jackie Peterson, market development director, The Olympian, Olympia, Wash.
  • District 12: Diane Plassmeyer, director – marketing, Pepsi-Cola Bottling Co., Colorado Spring, Colo.
  • District 13: Jim Myers, president, Honolulu Publishing Company, Honolulu, Hawaii
  • District 14: Courtney Smith, chief creative officer/co-founder, Pure Matter Marketing Brand Strategy, San Jose, Calif.
  • District 15: Mark Landon, president, The Landon Agency, Ontario, Calif.

Division Chairs:

  • Division 1: Ron Sweeney, advertising agency relations manager, The Washington Post, Washington, D.C.
  • Division 2: Dana Clary, VP – account services, REVOLVE, Orlando, Fla.
  • Division 3: Joseph Kelly, partner/CMO, Triad Consulting Corporation, Phoenix, Ariz.
  • Division 4: Carl Brigandi, owner, Daytona Beach News-Journal, Daytona Beach, Fla.
  • Division 5: Chad Gennow, account executive, MRM Worldwide, San Francisco, Calif.

Region Chairs:

  • Western Region: Julie Childs, senior production manager, Ogilvy Public Relations Worldwide, Sacramento, Calif.
  • Central Region: Marc Eisenberg, owner, Eisenberg Communigraphics, Corpus Christi, Texas
  • Eastern Region: Chic Davis, EVP/ECD, Advertising Media Plus, Baltimore, Md.
  • National Ad 2 Chair: Chad Gennow, account executive, MRM Worldwide, San Francisco, Calif.

National ADDY Committee Chair:

  • Stacy McCullough, president, Sprenger McCullough & Company, Kansas City, Mo.

National Conference Chair:

  • Nicholas Ferrari, CEO, Erdos & Morgan, Inc., Syosset, N.Y.

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at www.aaf.org.