May 25, 2007

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

The Coca-Cola Company Challenges Student Creativity and Talent Through AAF National Student Advertising Competition

2007 NSAC Finalists Announced

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Advertising students from across the country will present their comprehensive advertising campaigns for The Coca-Cola Company during the National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC), held June 7–8 at the AAF National Conference 2007in Louisville, Ky. Teams from more than 150 schools have survived the District "shoot-outs" and 18 have made it to the finals of the NSAC. As the nation's premier student advertising competition, this year's NSAC will showcase finalists who have diligently worked on their campaigns for the past six months.

Coca-Cola invited AAF's college chapter members to develop an integrated marketing campaign for Coca-Cola classic, one of the world's best-known and beloved brands. The students' objective was to develop a plan inclusive of advertising, media, retail activation, packaging, public relations and promotions and to increase consumption and brand health in the target audience by three percentage points.

The 18 finalists have endured rigorous phases of competition to be selected out of more than 150 schools and will now compete in the ultimate contest at NSAC in Louisville. The first-place team will be announced and present its campaign during the June 8 conference lunch. The following finalists represent the AAF's 15 districts. With two teams from Districts 2, 6 and 10, this is the largest national finals group ever.

2007 NSAC Finalists

District 1: Quinnipiac University, Renee Gravois Lee, Faculty Adviser
District 2: Baruch College, William Heath, Faculty Adviser
District 2: Syracuse University, Ed Russell, Faculty Adviser
District 3: University of Virginia, Jack Lindgren, Faculty Adviser
District 4: Florida State University, Barry Solomon, Faculty Adviser
District 5: Marshall University, Alyssa Goodman, Faculty Adviser
District 6: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Steve Hall, Faculty Adviser
District 6: University of Michigan, Mary Schmidt, Faculty Adviser
District 7: Savannah College of Art & Design, Art Novak, Faculty Adviser
District 8: University of Minnesota – Twin Cities, Howard Liszt, Faculty Adviser
District 9: Webster University, Nancy Wilson, Faculty Adviser
District 10: Texas Christian University, Mike Wood, Faculty Adviser
District 11: Portland State University, Don Dickinson, Faculty Adviser
District 12: The Art Center Design College – Tucson, Colleen Gimbel-Froebe, Faculty Adviser
District 13: Chaminade University of Honolulu, Cliff Bieberly, Faculty Adviser
District 14: California State University, Chico, Bill McGowan, Faculty Adviser
District 15: University of Southern California, Ken Wilbur, Faculty Adviser

Wild Card Team: University of Texas at Austin, John Murphy, Faculty Adviser

The AAF's education services division annually coordinates the NSAC in cooperation with a major corporation that serves as the competition sponsor. The NSAC is unique in that it provides students with a superior educational experience, which prepares them for successful careers, and provides the sponsor with tangible, effective integrated marketing campaigns. It also presents the advertising industry with recruitment opportunities. The 2007 NSAC judges include the following representatives from Coca-Cola North America:

Todd Arata, Advertising Director
Andrea Brown, Director, Strategic Media Planning
Kendra Hatcher, Senior Vice President, Director of Consumer Context Planning, MediaVest USA
Andy McMillin, Director, Coca-Cola Trademark
Rick Zuroweste, Group Marketing Director, Coca-Cola Trademark

For more information about the NSAC and the AAF National Conference 2007, go to

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at