May 29, 2007

2010 Press Releases | 2009 Press Releases | 2008 Press Releases | 2007 Press Releases | 2006 Press Releases | 2005 Press Releases | 2004 Press Releases | 2011 Press Releases | 2012 Press Releases | 2013 Press Releases

Advertising Excellence to be Showcased at 2007 ADDY® Awards

Best of Show to Be Announced at AAF National Conference in Louisville

WASHINGTON, D.C.—This June, the American Advertising Federation (AAF) will honor the exceptional work of the 2007 ADDY® Award winners. The ADDY Awardsare the world's largest, and arguable toughest advertising competition, presenting both professional and student advertising. This year's gala event will take place during the AAF National Conference 2007, June 7–9, in Louisville, Ky., and will feature acclaimed comedian and actor Joe Piscopo, former cast member of Saturday Night Live, as the celebrity master of ceremonies.

The ADDY Awards showcase 73 categories of advertising, including the Student ADDY Awards, designed exclusively for college students. The ADDY program is unique among all advertising competitions in that it is comprised of three rigorous levels of judging beginning at the local club level, moving on to regional competitions and ultimately advancing to the national/international finals. With more than 57,000 entries annually, the ADDY Awards continue to demonstrate creative excellence from a wide range of advertisers and agencies.

This year, out of the 1,677 entries judged in the national competition, a total of 307 ADDY Awards were presented, including 137 Gold and 162 Silver ADDY Awards. Of the 2007 finalists, 1,537 were professional entries, resulting in 119 Gold and 150 Silver ADDYs and four Special Judges Awards. Out of the 140 student entries judged, 18 Gold and 12 Silver ADDYs were awarded. The 2007 Best of Show winners in both the Student and Professional ADDY Categories will be announced during the ADDY Awards Gala, Saturday, June 9, at the AAF National Conference 2007 in Louisville, Ky.

The ADDY entries were judged by a distinguished panel of top creative professionals, including:

  • Archie Bell, Art Director, Arnold Worldwide
  • Rick Carpenter, President, DDB Los Angeles
  • Brett Elliott, Senior Copywriter, Lopez Negrete Communications
  • Gary Fox-Robertson, Vice President/Creative Director, Leo Burnett
  • Ari Halper, Vice President/Creative Director, Grey Worldwide
  • Patrick Hardy, EVP, Executive Creative Director, Tierney Communications
  • Raj Kamble, Creative Director, Lowe Worldwide
  • Javier Osorio, Creative Director, Lápiz
  • Gene Suliga, Creative Director, Performance Creative

For more information on the ADDY Awards, visit

– end –

The American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C., acts as the "Unifying Voice for Advertising." The AAF is the oldest national advertising trade association, representing 50,000 professionals in the advertising industry. The AAF has a national network of 200 ad clubs located in ad communities across the country. Through its 215 college chapters, the AAF provides 6,500 advertising students with real-world case studies and recruitment connections to corporate America. The AAF also has 130 blue-chip corporate members that are advertisers, agencies and media companies, comprising the nation's leading brands and corporations. For more information, visit the AAF's Web site at