2002 Betty Riehl Excellence in Service Award

2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001

2002 Betty Riehl Excellence in Service Award Recipient: Barbara Lutman

Barbara LutmanThe 2002 Betty Riehl Excellence in Service Award was presented to Barbara Lutman, executive director of the Advertising Club of Kansas City. Barbara Lutman began her career with the Ad Club of Kansas City 20 years ago when the club was in desperate need of guidance and management. Largely due to Lutman's leadership, the club has received several club achievement awards and now serves over 760 members.

Lutman & Bell
Barbara Lutman receives award from AAF President Emeritus Howard Bell

During the 1970s, the struggling Ad Club of Kansas City dropped its affiliation with the AAF. Early in her tenure, Lutman made it her mission to bring the club back into the AAF fold. It took several years and the help of many volunteers, but in 1991, Lutman proudly oversaw the re-affiliation of the club with AAF. Since that time, she has attended every District 9 annual conference and was the driving force in Kansas City's successful campaign to host the AAF National Conference in 1997. Although it is not part of her duties, Lutman has routinely lent a hand with the District 9 ADDY® Awards judging, the district National Student Advertising Competition and the district annual conference.

2005 Marge Traver, executive secretary, Fresno Advertising Federation
2004 Jay Hagins, executive director, Houston Advertising Federation (HAF)
2003 Richard C. Squire, executive director, Cleveland Advertising Association
2002 Barbara Lutman executive director, Advertising Club of Kansas City
2001 Dee Ann Budge, executive director, Utah Advertising Federation
2000 Georgia Brown, former AAF board laison & executive assistant to the president (posthumously)
Twila Hopkins, executive director, Phoenix Advertising Club
1999 Christie Dalgarno, bookkeeper, AAF
1998 Willa Brown, president/CEO, Denver Advertising Federation

For more information, contact Joanne Schecter, SVP, club services at (800) 999-2231 or jschecter@aaf.org.