2004 Betty Riehl Excellence in Service Award

2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001

2004 Betty Riehl Excellence in Service Award Recipient: Jay Hagins

The 2004 Betty Riehl Excellence in Service Award was presented to Jay Hagins, executive director, Houston Advertising Federation (HAF). Hagins has been actively involved with the HAF for over 30 years, is a past president and a Silver Medal recipient. With Hagins' direction the HAF developed three levels of educational programming designed to reach different membership segments: niche programs to aid small agencies and freelancers; professional development programs to help increase member skills and marketability; and monthly membership luncheons to bring community to the entire membership. Such programming has increased attendance and has improved membership value.

From left: AAF's Howard Bell presents Jay Hagins with the 2004 Betty Riehl Excellence in Service Award.

Under Hagin's leadership, the HAF established the Advertising Foundation of Houston with the goal of establishing a long-term vehicle to fund student and professional scholarships as well as other advertising educational opportunities. Proceeds from the foundation fund the HAF's student conference, which has grown from 150 students to 300 students in just a few years.

Hagin's generosity and commitment has been demonstrated by his extensive volunteer service, willingness to aid clubs in need and ability to work successfully with board members, the HAF officers, AAF District 10 and members.

2005 Marge Traver, executive secretary, Fresno Advertising Federation
2004 Jay Hagins, executive director, Houston Advertising Federation (HAF)
2003 Richard C. Squire, executive director, Cleveland Advertising Association
2002 Barbara Lutman executive director, Advertising Club of Kansas City
2001 Dee Ann Budge, executive director, Utah Advertising Federation
2000 Georgia Brown, former AAF board laison & executive assistant to the president (posthumously)
Twila Hopkins, executive director, Phoenix Advertising Club
1999 Christie Dalgarno, bookkeeper, AAF
1998 Willa Brown, president/CEO, Denver Advertising Federation

For more information, contact Joanne Schecter, SVP, club services at (800) 999-2231 or jschecter@aaf.org.