2001 Barton A. Cummings Gold Medal Award

2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001

2001 Barton A. Cummings Gold Medal Award Recipient: Barbara Westland

The 2001 recipient, Barbara Westland, is known for her generosity and dedication to the advertising industry. A member of the Advertising Club of Metropolitan Washington for over 16 years, Westland has held numerous positions including board member, program chair and ad club foundation chair. She was first vice president and then president of the club for two consecutive years. In her extensive efforts to resurrect the club from financial difficulties, Westland covered all printing, design and mailing costs by donating the services of her company, Westland Printers.

Westland has been chairperson of the ad club's ADDY® Awards for three years. In fact, she raised the awareness of the Ad Club of Metro Washington's ADDY® Awards, turning it into a successful fundraiser and primetime event. Westland was also chairperson for the District 2 ADDYs and has served for seven years on the national AAF ADDY® Committee.

From left: Chic Davis, Barbara Westland & Howard Bell
Westland was governor of District 2 and now serves as governor-at-large on the District 2 executive committee and secretary-treasurer of the AAF's Eastern Region. She was chair of the 1998 - 1999 Council of Governors, a subcommittee of the AAF national board of directors.

Combining warmth, joy and enthusiasm, Westland has been a generous sponsor of a multitude of AAF events. She offers her assistance at a moment's notice, going beyond the call of duty in donating goods, services and her time to the AAF on the local, district and national levels.

Past Recipients
2004 - David A. Park and Jack Avrett
2003 - Jim Goodnight and Alan Jenkins
2002 - Charlie Malone
2001 - Barbara Westland
2000 - Chic Davis
1999 - David Bell
1998 - W. Pendleton Tudor and James Anderson
1997 - Patricia J. Martin
1996 - Bernard T. Flanagan
1995 - James S. Fish and Donald A. Macdonald