Young Advertising Innovators to Be Honored at
2009 Advertising Hall of Achievement

Inductees From Advertising Age & Creativity, Coca-Cola North America, Gotham, Inc., Mediabrands, NBC Universal, Starcom MediaVest Group and Toy New York Will Be Recognized

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Seven advertising leaders will be inducted into the prestigious Advertising Hall of Achievement during a luncheon on Tuesday, November 17, at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City. The Advertising Hall of Achievement is the industry’s premier award for outstanding advertising professionals age 40 and under. The American Advertising Federation established this program in 1993 as a way to recognize young talented individuals who are reinventing the profession of advertising.

“This year’s class of Advertising Hall of Achievement inductees have made a significant impact on the advertising industry through their inspired ideas, innovative work and philanthropic efforts within their personal and professional communities,” said James Edmund Datri, AAF president and CEO.

Now in its 17th year, the Advertising Hall of Achievement has recognized some of the industry’s most exceptional talent. This year’s inductees are:

Allison Arden, VP/Publisher, Advertising Age & Creativity
Tara Comonte, CFO & COO, Worldwide, Mediabrands
Peter McGuinness, Chairman & CEO, Gotham, Inc.
Ari Merkin, Founding Partner/Chief Creative Officer, Toy New York
Beatriz Perez, SVP, Integrated Marketing, Coca-Cola North America
Tracey Scheppach, SVP, Video Innovation Director, Starcom MediaVest Group
Ben Silverman, Co-Chairman, NBC Entertainment & Universal Media Studios, NBC Universal

Beatriz Perez, senior vice president, integrated marketing, Coca-Cola North America, will also be presented with the esteemed Jack Avrett Volunteer Spirit Award. The AAF added this award in 1996 to honor an inductee who is committed to exceptional public service and the betterment of both the advertising industry and their community.

“As individuals, each honoree has earned a coveted seat in the Hall of Achievement. Together as a class, they represent the diversity, commitment and the highest standards of professionalism that unite and inspire our industry to strive high and forward, even in the most challenging times,” said Laura Desmond, global CEO, Starcom MediaVest Group, and co-chair of the 2009 Council of Judges. “I applaud the AAF for protecting and growing the Hall of Achievement institution and the impact it has on nurturing and celebrating our young talent.”

Wendy Clark, SVP, integrated marketing communications & capabilities, The Coca-Cola Company, and co-chair of the 2009 Council of Judges added, “If the future of our industry is foreshadowed by the innovative thinking, creative talent and fresh approach represented by this group of young professionals, I am excited to see what tomorrow will bring.”

2009 Advertising Hall of Achievement Committee

Laura Desmond,* Global CEO, Starcom MediaVest Group
Wendy Clark,* SVP, Integrated Marketing Communications & Capabilities, The Coca-Cola Company

Planning Committee
Lynne Collins, VP & Director, Communications, Saatchi & Saatchi
Beth-Ann Eason,* General Manager & COO,, Fox Digital Media
Lori Erdos, VP, Advertising Sales, USA TODAY
Daryl Evans, VP, Advertising & Marketing Communications, AT&T Mobility
Minerva Garcia, Chief Diversity Officer, DDB New York
Kim Kelleher,* VP & Publisher, SELF Magazine, Condé Nast Publications
Jacki Kelley,* President, North America, Universal McCann
Philippe Krakowsky,* EVP, Strategy & Corporate Relations, Interpublic Group
Beth Lawrence, VP, Yahoo! Inc.
Penry Price,* VP, Advertising Sales, North America, Google Inc.
Jack Rooney,* North American CEO, OgilvyAction & President, Ogilvy Chicago
Linda Thomas Brooks,* President, Ingenuity Media Group, The Martin Agency

Council of Judges
Ron Bess, President, Euro RSCG North America
Anne Bologna, CEO, Toy New York
David Carey,* President, Business Media, Condé Nast Publications
Nina DiSesa, Chairman, McCann Erickson New York
Scott Donaton,* President & CEO, Ensemble
Mark Ellis, EVP, Sales, AOL Advertising
Sean Finnegan,* President, Chief Digital Officer, Starcom MediaVest Group
Jon Gieselman,* SVP, Advertising & Public Relations, DIRECTV
Wenda Harris Millard,* President, Medialink Worldwide Inc.
Andreas Roell, Chairman & CEO, Geary Interactive
Jeff Sautter, EVP, Director of Human Resources, BBDO New York
Rich Stoddart,* President, Leo Burnett North America
Danielle Vona, VP, Propel, Pepsi-Cola North America Beverages
Denise Warren, Chief Advertising Officer & SVP, New York Times Media Group/GM,

*Advertising Hall of Achievement member

For more information on the 2009 Advertising Hall of Achievement, go to For sponsorship information, please contact Dee Dee Swartz, manager, events and conferences, at